A Pirate’s night for me

With the TV season behind me (except for The Sopranos, which off this week before returning for its final two episodes), my weekend attention turned fully to the movies, with The Girlfriend and I making a trip to see Waitress, followed by my solo visit to Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End.

There’s not much to say about Waitress, which is about a pie-shop waitress stuck in a bad marriage. Other events happen to her (and her two waitress co-workers), but mostly people just talk about pie — its flavor, its texture, its calming sensation on the human soul. The movie has been hyped as this summer’s Little Miss Sunshine, but it doesn’t even come close to being on that film’s level, both in terms of emotion and filmmaking.

The movie has too much of a “put on” feel, much like what I found in “The Good Girl” (a far superior movie, by the way). I don’t mind when characters talk like they’re in a movie, e.g. Raising Arizona, but when a movie tries to depict a level of realism, that style of filmmaking just doesn’t work.

I should also point out that Waitress has a really annoying scene in which the titular character walks around with a smile on her face that only made me think of those Enzyte commercials.

The weekend’s other movie, the third installment of the Pirates franchise, proved to be an interesting piece of film. It is long (almost three hours), and it is terribly confusing (I still haven’t figured out the motives of one major character in the climactic battle), but dammit, I enjoyed EVERY SINGLE MINUTE of it. It made me laugh, the special effects amazed me, and the action topped anything else I’ve seen this year. In particular, the final battle as the ships go down a whirpool was a true film delight.

That being said, I can still understand the criticism aimed at the movie. A film of this size (and cost) should have spent a bit more time developing a coherent storyline. Be that as it may, I still think everyone should go watch it, even if it’s only because (as Cory put it), it’s doing your part for the American film economy.

Leave a Reply

