Knacked Up (a lame play off the movie’s title and the word “knack”)

30_juddandleslie.jpg
Judd Apatow has an amazing ability to make us care for nerds, slackers and other ne’er do wells, where other moviemakers tend to push them to the background, only good for a few laughs at their expense.

As one of the creative geniuses (and I’m not using that term lightly) behind the TV show Freaks and Geeks, one of the single best things to ever grace a television screen, Apatow showed sensitivity toward these characters, most of whom were on the fringes of the mainstream.

He followed that work by creating Undeclared (a brief look at the life of college freshman) and The 40-Year-Old Virgin (see title for the best description of the movie’s plot). In each, he balanced the laughs by creating characters you cared for, even as you were laughing at (and often, with) them.

And now, he’s back with Knocked Up, a look at the potential hijinks that can come after a drunken one-night-stand. Sure, the movie has its share of gross-out humor, but at its heart, Knocked Up delivers fascinating characters studies of people in the single life and young married couples in the early stages of parenthood.

Right now, it stands as one of the funniest films of the year. By the time 2007 is over, it will likely stand as one of its best.

Other thoughts:
* *
While walking into the theatre to watch Knocked Up, I was walking slightly ahead of Katie. From my general direction came a gigantic boom, which was, at least to me, clearly and explosion from one of the movies.

She had other ideas.

“Did you fart?” she asked.

She must think I have quite the booming system.

“Babe, that was in THX,” I explained.

**
I think I invented a new word the other day. I was talking to Katie (often affectionately referred to as “Boo”) when I got a call from my friend Jeff (often affectionately referred to as “Dude”).

Somehow, I combined the word and came out with “Bude” (or maybe “Bood”), which I guess means a friend of great affection.

Not to be outdone, Katie later coined a term of her own, when I accidentally grabbed the front of her shorts and pulled them up a bit.

“Babe, quit,” she scolded. “You’re gonna give me a veggie.”

(And if you can’t figure it out, think “wedgie” plus a girly part).

**
From a reader of The Sports Guy: Worst Fight Ever.

2 thoughts on “Knacked Up (a lame play off the movie’s title and the word “knack”)

  1. Is that Frank Stallone?

    Why are these guys always so shiny? It’s as if they stop periodically throughout the day to oil themselves up, just in case. If my line of work/circle of friends/daily behavior caused me to get in so many shirtless fights that I felt the need to carry baby oil with me at all times, I’d make some changes in my life.

    Of course, I’m the type of guy to stop fighting once my eye has been gouged out by an awkwardly placed coat hook… so, what do I know?

Leave a Reply

