The Sopranos finale: Did my cable just go off?

It’s been over now for 38 minutes.

I’m still confused.

I’m assuming up front that you watched the finale. If not, stop reading…

The finale episode of what is perhaps The Greatest TV Show Ever ended Sunday night by, well, just by ending. With viewers anticipating some sort of major climactic moment, the rousing strains of the chorus to Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing” started to kick in and then …

Well, nothing.

The screen suddenly cut off, the music fell silent, and I immediately began cursing the idiots at Time-Warner Cable, thinking someone somewhere had pushed the wrong button, thus causing the cable to go off at the most inopportune time imaginable.

Nope. That’s just what viewers of The Sopranos got for an ending.

The good news now is that Larry David no longer has the the distinction of having written the most disappointing ending to a major (not to mention popular) TV show. David Chase, please accept our condolences as you now take this honor. (I would have been happier with the ol’ “it was all a dream in the mind of an autistic boy” ending or even the “Kate, we never should have left the island” season capper from Lost. Hell, I would have been happier if James Gandolfini started singing “This is my now” while A.J. beat-boxed, as the father-son duo pushed past Jordan and Blake in an alternate universe take on “American Idol”).

But no, instead, we got a Choose Your Own Adventure ending, with David Chase leaving everything up to the imagination of the show’s viewers, forgetting momentarily that TV viewers are morons (just ask Aaron Sorkin).

So what happend?

I read that David Chase filmed three different endings to keep everyone in supsense. After watching 15 seconds of a silent, black screen, I’m beginning to think that the episode’s editor forgot to attach one of those three different endings.

I want to like this episode. I want to know why it makes sense. I want to know why so much attention was paid to Meadow’s inability to parallel park.

Can someone please explain this to me?

One thought on “The Sopranos finale: Did my cable just go off?

  1. Parallel parking is hard. I hate it, I’m terrible at it, and I fancy myself a fairly good driver. Having said that, here’s my take:

    Meadow’s car represents Tony’s difficult inner-struggle to find his place in society. He’s torn between two world, each represented by a different parked car. On one hand, you have the world of organized crime, on the other you have his domesticated home life. As Meadow struggles to park her car, we’re actually seeing Tony struggle to find a balance between the two.

    As she finally parks the car, signifying a balance in the two world of Tony Soprano… but the 15 seconds of dead-air represents the descent into darkness that follows such a delicate balance. For now, Tony’s luxury car is securely stationed between the two worlds. However, the imminent darkness signifies his inability to keep it there.

    The inclusion of “Don’t Stop Believing” is itself telling. Using “Journey” as she attempts to park is representative of the long Journey that Tony embarked on as a young man, and “Don’t Stop Believing” is a cry out to the entire Soprano family… a cry that says, “one day you will have balance.”

Leave a Reply

