The End

hp-spread01-lr.jpg

I finally finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

Initial reaction?

Best. Book. Ever.

Waiting in line

I don’t want to reveal any spoilers, but if anyone wants to discuss the book, e-mail me at strother.kevin@gmail.com.

One other thought: There’s NO EFFIN’ WAY this can be made into a movie (and while I’m at it, there’s a fair amount of adult language used in this book, including hte use of “effin'”), mainly because it will have a budget of $500 million. Of course, it will earn $100 billion, but still …

Oh, and one more thought: I absolutely am sick and tired of hearing people complain about how Harry Potter is corrupting our youth by encouraging them to practice magic and witchcraft.

That’s pure and utter nonsense.

I grew up on the Star Wars movies, and I wanted nothing more out of life than to be a Jedi. I wanted to use the Force. I wanted a lightsaber. I wanted Princess Leia. However, two things blocked this from me: a) I couldn’t stand on one hand like Luke did in Empire, and I figured that was a crucial part of the training process and b) it was an effin’ movie. Even at 4 years old, my age when I first saw Empire in a theater, I knew it was a movie.

And when I went to the First Presbyterian Church of Stanton every Sunday, I prayed my normal prayers to God, not Yoda, even though I would usually pray for some Jedi capabilities, at the very least the Jedi Mind Trick.

The Harry Potter books, like Lord of the Rings or Star Wars or any other number of fantasy books/movies before them, are about many things, including honor, bravery, courage, friendship, faith, hope and love.

Now, I don’t maintain to be a theological scholar, but I do know a few things about the Bible, and correct me if I’m wrong but some of the primary teachings of Jesus included honor, friendship, faith, hope and love (I’m not 100 percent certain on the bravery and courage thing, but I’m guessing they’re in there somewhere, maybe in Phillipians or Acts).

So, is it really so wrong to think that, besides the intellectual and creative stimulation that comes from reading some finely written stories, children can walk away learning some important values in these books?

Apparently not to some people, as evidenced by a bitter old lady Saturday evening in Target. While standing in line, I watched this much-too-tan woman, with big hair featuring at least half a can of industrial strength hairspray (close your eyes; you know you can picture her), walk by a Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows display and loudly croak, “That’s the devil’s work.”

Quite pleased with her half-assed religious commentary, she pointed the display out to what appeared to her adult daughter and 3-4-year-old grandson. She waited a few minutes, giving ample time for others to turn and look at her before repeating in a voice sounding like ripped carpet, “That’s the devil’s work.”

And since she had made her point about all that ails this world and having now made it safe for children everywhere, she took her grandson by the hand and led him out of the store …

… where he sat in her lap while she smoked a cigarette.

6 thoughts on “The End

  1. I, too, think that this final installment of the Harry Potter heptalogy is not only the finest of the series, but the best book of all time.

    Harry’s death was handled tastefully, despite Rowling’s insistence that our hero’s organs be battered from within by his own mother, reduced in size by the one of the professor’s machines. A curious end to the most important literary work of the decade, but I think it will sink in over time. And Ronnie’s implied love affair with you-kn0w-who… I immediately thought “wtf?” and “what-the-fuck?” at the same time.

    My only problem with the book is that I felt Snape (or whatever his name is) should have remained on the island, instead of agreeing to make bicycles for his uncle over the summer, but I’ve heard several opposing reactions. All in all, I give the book one out of four stars, the highest grade I have ever given anything.

    Jeff.

  2. I’ll email you later, because I’m sure that you’ll kill me … but I’m disappointed. (Read my blog for reasons. And let me tell you, it’s hard to list reasons without spoilers.) I still hold fast to Goblet of Fire being the best book.

    Regardless … when this is made into a movie, which you know it will be, there will be some of the best death scenes ever.

    Oh, and Jeff, I just have to say, he had to stay and make bicycles for his uncle. It was the only way. :o)

    -Trysh

  3. I agree 100%, best book ever. I cried like a little girl, of course, but I loved it. I think I am going to start with HP&TSS tomorrow and read all seven of them in a row.

  4. I think it’s stupid. I grew up in a hardcore christian home, I wasn’t allowed to read Harry Potter, I wasn’t allowed to watch Power Rangers because it was apparently “demonic”. I wasn’t allowed play video games where ghosts were present. I wasn’t allowed to do anything and at the time, I thought it was completely logical. But now, looking back, I can see it was completely bullshit and it pisses me off. And yes, my father didn’t like me watching ‘Empire’ because of the scenes where Luke was training. He didn’t stop me though, due to the fact that it was ‘effin Star Wars.

    The book was awesome wasn’t it? I was really satisfied. I’m with you though, they are really gonna have to clean it up to make it under the PG-13 mark for theaters. I don’t care though, i can’t wait to actually see all (by all i mean about 65%) of it on the big screen.

  5. First of all, Jeff has nearly killed me.

    Secondly, I read the first Potter book, liked it, but then never moved forward. Thus, they hysteria has passed me by. However, I had a conversation over the weekend about the madness surrounding its release and made an interesting inner-discovery… I WISH I was as excited as everyone else.

    Seriously, was that girl on the front page of the Herald-Leader crying!? Was she actually crying at the site of the book? I’m not suggesting that it’s wrong to cry while READING the book… but to explode into tears at the site of someone holding up a copy… wow. I’m not sure what, if anything, could get that kind of reaction out of me, but I wish I knew.

    But it damn sure wouldn’t be that devil stuff. Unlike YOU guys, I treasure my eternal soul a little more deeply than some cheap thrills at the hands of the black arts. You want some good reading? Pick up the Left Behind series, you’d better get used to the idea… heathens.

  6. It’s a well-known fact that Rowling based her Harry Potter series on the Aleister Crowley poem “Hymn to Pan:”

    Thrill with lissome lust of the light,
    O man! My man!
    Come careering out of the night
    Of Pan! Io Pan!
    Io Pan! Io Pan! Come over the sea
    From Sicily and from Arcady!
    Roaming as Bacchus, with fauns and pards
    And nymphs and satyrs for thy guards,
    On a milk-white ass, come over the sea
    To me, to me,
    Come with Apollo in bridal dress
    (Shepherdess and pythoness)
    Come with Artemis, silken shod,
    And wash thy white thigh, beautiful God,
    In the moon of the woods, on the marble mount,
    The dimpled dawn of the amber fount!
    Dip the purple of passionate prayer
    In the crimson shrine, the scarlet snare,
    The soul that startles in eyes of blue
    To watch they wantonness weeping through
    The tangled grove, the gnarled bole
    Of the living tree that is spirit and soul
    And body and brain—come over the sea
    (Io Pan! Io Pan!)
    Devil or god, to me, to me,
    My man! my man!
    Come with trumpets sounding shrill
    Over the hill!
    Come with drums low muttering
    From the spring!
    Come with flute and come with pipe!
    Am I not ripe?
    I, who wait and writhe and wrestle
    With air that hath no boughs to nestle
    My body, weary of empty clasp,
    Strong as a lion and sharp as an asp—
    Come, O come!
    I am numb
    With the lonely lust of devildom.
    Thrust the sword through the galling fetter,
    All-devourer, all-begetter;
    Give me the sign of the Open Eye,
    And the token erect of thorny thigh,
    And the word of madness and mystery,
    O Pan! Io Pan!
    Io Pan! Io Pan Pan! I am awake
    In the grip of the snake.
    The eagle slashes with beak and claw;
    The gods withdraw:
    The great beasts come, Io Pan! I am borne
    To death on the horn
    Of the Unicorn
    I am Pan! Io Pan! Io Pan Pan! Pan!
    I am thy mate, I am thy man,
    Goat of thy flock, I am gold, I am god,
    Flesh to thy bone, flower to thy rod.
    With hoofs of steel I race on the rocks
    Through solstice stubborn to equinox.
    And I rave; and I rape and I rip and I rend
    Everlasting, world without end,
    Mannikin, maiden, maenad, man,
    In the might of Pan
    Io Pan! Io Pan Pan! Pan! Io Pan!

Leave a Reply

