I can be your Heroes, baby

I finally finished the first season of Heroes, just in time for the second season to being at 9 p.m . Monday on NBC.

You’re no doubt asking yourself, “I wonder what took him so long to get around to this, seeing as how he’s a nerdy geek and a geeky nerd” (well, actually, you’re asking “Who cares?” but since this is my blog, I’m going to assume at least one other person out there is interested).

To be honest, I never thought the show would last. On the surface, a TV show about with a comic book premise just didn’t scream “appeals to the masses,” so I thought it would, at most, last 5-7 episodes. So, since it would be pulled early, I didn’t want to make the emotional investment into the characters and never be able to get any closure to the story.

Then, it debuted with more than 14 million viewers and became the smash hit of the TV season. Still, I kept delaying watching it, and before long, I was kicking myself, particularly when I could neither save the cheerleader nor save the world.

Thank God for DVDs.

I plowed through all 23 episodes, and I have to admit that I was hooked by the first one and majorly addicted not quite halfway through the season. It’s not a perfect show – as my friend John notes, there are too many scenes with amazingly bad acting and writing to place it on the level of something like Lost – but still, it’s a fun piece of pop plotting that managed to keep my interest.

Most of all, I was pleased with the message of “there’s a hero in all of us,” that while corny, still proved effective. These were just regular folks who found themselves with mysterious new powers and were struggling to deal with it. The characters of Peter and Hiro best summed this up, and while I wasn’t the biggest fan of Peter, I cheered almost every time Hiro showed up on the screen.

I’m not joking. Hiro, played by Masi Oka, embodied the geeky spirit found in many, if not most, of the show’s viewers. An office drone in Japan, he found himself able to bend space and time, but he had little control over his powers. Plus, he was afraid. He’s not big. He’s not strong. He’s perfectly average, which, story-telling wise, makes him perfectly perfect.

Leave a Reply

