18 and life

Is there a worse form of human existence than the 18-20-year-old male? They are ripe with unchecked hormones, and this newfound testosterone just seems to ooze out of them, making them pretty much jackasses in every part of their daily lives.

They are loud. They drive too fast. They dress funny. They are, in short, awful.

Now, I realize that the previous sentences make me sound like Oldy McOlderson, but I think any of you who might have had recent contact with a male in this age range will agree with me on this one.

Example? Friday night, I was leaving the parking lot of a retail store when a giant red truck ran a stop sign, revved his engine and plowed on down the road. As I approached this same stop sign, I fortunately noticed his hot-rodding buddy following him, as this second driver also completely ignored the basic traffic laws and squealed off.

One problem – it was my turn to go, and I had started out into the road, just enough to make the guy stop and notice his mistake. I also honked the horn for added emphasis.

Oh, the driver stopped — just long enough to give me a “what the hell are you honking for?” look and then flip me off. I laughed at him and pointed at the stop sign. He turned to look at it, shrugged his shoulders, peeled out and left me there shaking my head. Note: I wanted to shake my fist and mutter about this “damn whippersnappers,” but I was too busy laughing at this moron.

There’s no real moral to this blog, but if anyone else wants to share their favorites stories involving the idiocy of 18-20-year-old boys, please feel free to leave them in the comments.

3 thoughts on “18 and life

  1. My favorite are the ones who want to act like they’ve got a real ride, pull up beside me and rev the engine like they want to drag. Radio thumping so loud their plates are rattling, light changes and they’re off-but dumbass has a stick and has put it in neutral at the light…bahahhaaha… Nice grill you got there bub-that’s all I see in my rearview.

  2. There’s no real moral to this blog, but if anyone else wants to share their favorites stories involving the idiocy of 18-20-year-old boys, please feel free to leave them in the comments.

    favorites should be singular….If’n I got paid to copy-edit you, I would be Mark Cuban-rich.

    Idiocy of 20 year old boys??? You should remember that I once tried to impress upon you that one day you would be 31, and would finally see the generation gap. The Generation after Generation X. I know…I was right.

    Don’t worry about writing me back. You have a Ripken-like streak going, as it is….

  3. I thought about correcting that typo following Horton’s critique, but I’d rather look like an idiot than make him look like one. I did enough of that in the Golden Days at Gall’s …

Leave a Reply

