Thanks, I think (and DO NOT go see The Mist)

I apparently have a thing for older women.

Last week, I shared a few dances with a sweet old lady at the senior citizens center.

Saturday, I took another lady of age to the Kentucky Theatre to see Singin’ in the Rain.

The lady this time, though, was my mom, and it marked the first time in a couple of years that two of us have been able to spend a day together. At first, I wasn’t so sure we’d survive.

We had agreed to meet at near my office at 10:30 a.m., leaving us plenty of time to get downtown for the show at 11. Mom didn’t really want to drive downtown, what with all the one-way streets and all, and since we were also going to hit Fayette Mall later in the day, taking one car made sense.

Mom, though, arrived at 10:05 and called me to let me know in case I need to get there any earlier.

I didn’t.

Much later, after I arrived at our pre-established meeting time, we made our way to the movie. As we walked up Main Street, I reminded her to put her phone on silent. She told me she didn’t know how. She also didn’t know to unlock her phone to enable me to try to figure it out, so for a few minutes, I was faced with either leaving her in the car while I watched the movie or throw her phone in the trash.

Fortunately, she figured out how to get things rolling with it, and I turned it on silent, allowing us to enter the Kentucky and prepare to watch the movie in peace. Also, I should note that Mom has a tendency to just wander off while I’m talking to her, leaving me talking to empty spaces or complete strangers. I felt like putting her on a leash, like a puppy or a toddler at the mall.

Once the movie started, the troubles left us because frankly, it’s impossible to watch Singin’ in the Rain and not be completely happy. It’s one of my favorite films of all time, with so many great moments that make me smile until my cheeks hurt. I think we all just need to be in love so much at some point that we toss aside our umbrellas and dance like madmen (or at the very least, Gene Kelly) in a torrential downpour.

Overall, this holiday weekend proved to be one of my favorites of recent memory. Some of you probably know that I don’t always do well around fall/winter holidays, choosing to make huge life decisions on those days, but this year, it was great to just spend time with my family and friends.

The long weekend started Wednesday after work with a trip to watch No Country For Old Men with Jeff and Nick. The film, directed by the Coen Brothers based on the great book by Cormac McCarthy, lived up to the buzz and is definitely one of the best films I’ve seen this year, maybe even topping the list. It is perfect in every way, with exemplary acting, writing, directing and cinematography, and it has so many classic scenes that it seems destined to be remembered for years to come. Despite knowing what was to come after having read the book, the Coens kept my suspense level high, particularly during a scene in which Anton Chigurh (played with icy brilliance by Javier Bordem) asks a store clerk to call a coin flip, with the end result determining life or death.

After the movie (and the chance for the Nick, Jeff and I to make fun of people who didn’t get the movie and were making fun of it), I headed off to Powell County to spend the night with my sister and her family. My youngest nephew, Jon, yelled as soon as I walked inside, and ran to greet me with a huge hug. He was up past his bedtime about two hours, but he didn’t want to miss seeing me. Before I arrived, he kept peeking out the window and asking when I would get there.
100_0082.jpg
You can tell they’ve done this before.

Once I arrived, he climbed in my lap and fell asleep against my chest while the rest of watch finished watching Deal or No Deal. Every time I visit them, I wind up wishing I had one of these “kid” things of my own, but I’m sure if I ever happened to impregnate a woman, I’d immediately feel otherwise.
100_0075.jpg
One of us is cool … it’s not me.

Thursday found us with great food, but my highlight might have been finally beating my oldest nephew at video football. I suspect he let me win in an effort to remain on Santa’s nice list, but still, the victory lifted my spirits.
100_0106.jpg100_0110.jpg
Football victory is mine, for once.

Cory, Nathan and I ventured out to Fayette Mall Friday afternoon, all in the name of finding value, but I think Cory and Nathan were more interested in sniffing out a fight. They arrived in dark jeans, dark shirts and leather jackets, and I have to tell you, I feared a bit for my life. Fortunately, they were on my side, particularly after I presented Nathan, the world’s biggest bargain hunter, with a coupon from Macy’s.

I picked out a name for the Salvation Army’s Christmas Angel program, something I first took part in last year while helping Katie purchase gifts for the kid she “adopted.” This year, since I’m on my own in a social sense, I went the solo route for the program, eventually spending part of Saturday making all sorts of selections at Target.

After a bit o’ browsing, I ventured off to watch I’m Not There with Nick and Jeff. This time, though, the movie experience left me underwhelmed. I’m not sure exactly what was happening in all of I’m Not There, but there were definite moments in which I wished I hadn’t been there.

The movie overall isn’t bad, but the bits with Richard Gere made absolutely no sense to me, despite Jeff and Nick saying they were good scenes. Whatever.

Cate Blanchett’s performance, though, deserves award recognition, and Heath Ledger continues to prove that he’s an exciting young actor. (On a related note, can The Dark Knight just go ahead and open already?)

After Saturday’s shenanigans with my mom, I ended up back in Georgetown, tired and sore, only to watch UK lose a heartbreaker to Tennessee, thus bringing and end a once-promising football season. Now we just wait to see what bowl game the Wildcats will end up in.

The night ended with a trip to see The Mist, marking my first trip to the Theatres of Georgetown since earlier this summer. The sound sucks, the prints are always scratched, the projection bulb is too dim and the audience talks too much. Still, the movies are cheap, and I didn’t feel like heading back to Lexington.

In truth, I should have just stayed home. I’m not going to say it’s the worst movie I’ve ever seen in a theater, not with having watched crap like The Village and Batman & Robin, but The Mist is way the hell up there on that short list. I went into expecting decent things, particularly since Cory and Nathan sang its praises.

I’ll never listen to them again.

Also, it’s worth noting that Cory, who wants to see No Country For Old Men, refuses to watch it a theater, saying he’d just prefer to wait for it to come out on DVD. So, when his cicadian rhythym movie-watching rolled around this year, he for reasons unbeknownst to me decided to watch The Mist. I think I’m going to smack him upside his head next time I see him.

Warning: Some spoilers might be ahead, but if you choose to watch The Mist, that’s your own damn problem.

There are parts of the The Mist that make up a decent B movie, but it couldn’t string enough of those moments together. The movie was laughably bad, and there wasn’t a single character that I cared about, not even the Little Boy Who Seemed to Sleep the Entire Time. If a movie featuring a sweet boy vs. mutated bugs and you’re rooting for the bugs, it’s a baaaaaaaad movie. At one point, a heroic/moronic crew venture out into the titular mist, load up into a jeep-type vehicle and prepare to head off in search of non-misty areas, making this would-be cross-country venture Little Mist Sunshine, I guess.

So now it’s Sunday, and I still have one movie left on my watch list, but unlike most films, I refuse to go to it by myself. I’ve sat through sci-fi films, comic book movies and low-brow comedies, all while looking like the world’s biggest nerd, but it’s better than sitting through Disney’s Enchanted looking like the world’s biggest perv. So, if anyone (disclaimer: this means anyone of my adult friends, preferably those with children we could take) out there is remotely interested in seeing this one, please give me a yell.

2 thoughts on “Thanks, I think (and DO NOT go see The Mist)

  1. It’s a shame that you didn’t appreciate The Mist on the level that Nathan, David and I did. Kevin correctly points out that I never go to theaters, as my long standing rule is that nearly everything I see in theaters winds up being dreadful. It wouldn’t be so bad if I could just cross town to see a film, but to attend a movie house of any quality I have to make a 2 hour round trip… I’m sorry, but I don’t like the odds.

    I caught The Mist almost by accident. Nathan and I had bargain hunted for a while, and decided to whip by the neighboring theater just to see what time it happened to play. Since it was starting right that second, the heat of the moment found me in a seat. I wasn’t just surprised by the quality, I was amazed by it. Granted, the special effects were often bordering on just plain awful (there were moments where I’ve seen TV movies look more convincing), but the overall story and general eerieness of the mist itself really intrigued me.

    I should, however, point out that Kevin isn’t really a huge fan of the genre anyway (Let’s remember his brief review of Saw, which I (and I’m not alone) thought was actually pretty good). You can’t go into a movie like that expecting to me moved profoundly or to have your world shaken, but despite that I actually felt connection with the characters and genuinely hated the villain to epic proportions.

    Anyway, I shall no longer defend my love of The Mist. I loved it, I don’t plan on denouncing it, I’ll buy the DVD and I even bought the book in hopes of learning the original ending. It truly is The Citizen Kane of movies about creepy mist that are set almost entirely within grocery stores.

Leave a Reply

