Mourning a loss on E Street

Cory recently mentioned that he’d always felt like Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band would live forever, that they were larger than life and almost seemed invincible.

Sadly, he was wrong.

Danny Federici, the keyboard player for the E Street band, died Thursday at age 58. He had been battling melanoma for the past few years and recently took an extended leave from touring with Bruce Springsteen to undergo more treatments.

Federici might not get the pub of the Big Man Clarence Clemmons or Little Steve, but he certainly left his mark on the band, including playing accordian on “4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy).” I recently watched a clip of a March 20 performance in Indianapolis in which Federici rejoined the band to play the song, and it was an emotional night for the audience and the E Streeters, coming together one last time for an epic song.

 

This morning on my way to work, I listened to some Springsteen and decided to write a blog about how some music just has the ability to make me happy, no matter how dark a mood I might find myself in. I’m going to postpone that one for a bit, I guess, mainly because I want this space today to celebrate the life and music of Danny Federici. So, today I’ll be listening to some classic Bruce, which always makes me happy, but it will be a bit bittersweet.

But that’s one of the beauties of amazing music. Years from now, when all of the E Street is dead and gone, the music they made will remain, delighting people each time a song is played.

While I’m sad for Danny’s family, friends, bandmates and fans, I’m glad he got to live a life that created inspiration to others.

Thanks, Danny, for the music.

One thought on “Mourning a loss on E Street

  1. That’s sad, no question about it. I managed to miss that bit of news. I can remember many moments of my life where that music was the soundtrack. (You were there for any of those.) I will definitely go back into the vaults for some celebration and nostalgia now, though.

Leave a Reply

