Mad hatters (and, I guess, shirters and other logo-ers)

Today beings an official project on fandom and, I guess, geography and maybe a little fashion.

(Actually, I started the count Friday, but I’m getting ahead of myself).

As cliché as it sounds, we live in a world without any true boundaries these days, evidenced in the way that it is perfectly acceptable to cheer for any sports franchise no matter where you live. Look no further than yours truly for a perfect example: I live in Georgetown, Kentucky, right smack dab in the middle (or close enough) of the state. I have no immediate ties to Los Angeles, New York or Chicago, yet my favorite pro franchises are the Lakers, Mets and Bears, respectively.

So who do people in this region cheer for?

Who knows?

So I made it my quest to find out.

On Friday, I made a list of all 30 Major League Baseball teams, and I’m going to document when/where the first time I see someone sporting an item featuring each franchise. I fully expect Boston, New York (most likely the Yankees instead of the Mets), Chicago (the Cubs variety) and Cincinnati to be the first teams off the list, with Florida, Colorado, Houston, Tampa Bay and Pittsburgh to be at the bottom.
Free hugs and a Boston hat appearance
Free hugs and a Boston hat appearance.

I realize this has no scientific bearing on who cheers for whom and probably will be more of an indication of the fashion popularity of certain teams, but nevertheless, I’m still kind of interested to see how this turns out, assuming I have the gumption to stick with it and finish it.

A few large events (Friday night’s pre-Derby festivities in Louisville, August’s Lollapalooza) will no doubt skew the numbers, but that’s all part of it. A few trips to Cincinnati to catch the Reds in action will probably help, too.

What are your thoughts on the teams? Who will be the first ones off the board? Who will be the last? Is it possible to see all 30 teams before the year is out?

In the meantime, I’m off to go count. If you’re out and about and see any unusual sports items, feel free to share them with me by leaving comments below. They won’t count toward the official tally I’m keeping, but I’d still like to read about what you find.

I’ll keep you posted.
The Boston hat makes another appearanche.
Yet another Boston hat appearance. Of course, this young fellow borrowed mine.

3 thoughts on “Mad hatters (and, I guess, shirters and other logo-ers)

  1. Interesting idea. Yes, growing up in Kentucky, my favorite pro teams are naturally the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Devil Rays (oops, just Rays) and Lightning, Houston Astros, Portland Trailblazers, Seattle Seahawks, Chicago White Sox and Buffalo Sabres. Actually, I don’t give a crap about baseball or hockey or the NBA, so it’s pretty much just the Bucs and the Seahawks. Actually, it’s pretty much just the Bucs.

    So, if you run into me, you may be able to check off the Rays or the Astros. Maybe just the Rays, as the last Astros item I purchased was one of those hard plastic helmets from a Reds/Astros game about ten years ago. You know, the kind that will never be worn anywhere. I just wanted to have one to go with my orange Astros helmet from my first baseball game ever from the seventies.

    If you were doing the NFL you could check off the Bucs for me quickly. About 90% of my wardrobe features Buccaneers logos. My mom has been on this kick for years where just about every gift she ever gives me has a Bucs logo on it. I’m not complaining.

    Also, if you were doing the NFL, I’d say the Packers, Cowboys, Colts and Bengals would be first to go in this area. Last ones maybe Bills, Cardinals, Chiefs, Lions.

  2. Pingback: My friend almost died from embarrassment « So … there I was

Leave a Reply

