Lollapalooza 2008: Wilco and Slash but no Obama

Day Two
The second day got off to a somewhat slow start, as Cory and I once again split up to see different stages. I saw the Last Band Standing contest winner (a pretty decent group from Minnesota, although I can’t recall their name for the life of me) followed by Margot and the Nuclear So and Sos. I met up with Cory to see Mason Jennings, a singer/songwriter I had previously become familiar with through Katie, and I’m pleased to say he was good enough that Cory, who can have some discerning taste in music, walked away a fan.

We ventured over to see Dierks Bentley, mainly to see why the country singer was playing at Lollapalooza (take that, Toby Keith!), and while he was pretty decent, it was nothing to get too pumped about. Three or four songs in, Cory decided he’d had about enough of Dierks and suggested we head to Perry’s Stage, where Lollapalooza leader Perry Farrell was due to appear at 3:30 p.m. with “special guest.” Since Moby was scheduled to play in town that evening, it made good sense to think he was “special guest,” but soon the “special” part got even more special. The guest?

Slash.

As in, the former lead guitarist from Guns ‘n’ Roses.

Damn.

That sound you’re hearing is the sound of Heather cursing my good fortune

After that, we saw Jamie Lidell, whose energetic soulful sound was only slightly overshadowed by his too-tight trousers. I was 100 feet from the stage and couldn’t escape the sight of Lidell’s penis, so I’m not sure how Cory managed to put up with that after fighting his way close to the stage.

After 20 minutes or so, I’d had enough cock sightings for one weekend, prompting me to head over to get a decent spot for Wilco. While waiting, I saw Broken Social Scene, which was a pretty good group to play before Wilco.

As 8 p.m. approached, anticipation grew as everyone waited for the rumored appearance of Sen. Barack Obama, but he was a no-show. Instead, Wilco just took the stage looking like the long-lost offspring of Porter Wagoner and performed 90 minutes of fantastic Wilcnoess.

Cool suits


Cool shot

3 thoughts on “Lollapalooza 2008: Wilco and Slash but no Obama

  1. Um.. the sound you hear is, to quote Paul Simon, the sound of “silence”.
    As in, the above mentioned incident never happened. I don’t care how much you photoshop my heroes together, I refuse to acknowledge it. Period. Ever. Never happened.

  2. Pingback: Lollapalooza 2010: Sorry bands, but it’s about the food « So … there I was

  3. Pingback: Lollapalooza: The Dork Knight Rises | So … there I was

Leave a Reply

