Season 2: Football Picks, Week 3

First up, eat it Ohio State fans.

Not only did USC trounce the Buckeyes, I have this chat transcript with Cory as further proof Ohio State fans are morons:

Kevin: when i got home from lexington yesterday, a big Dodge truck was parked across the front of my driving, blocking my access

my neighbor said some guy parked there and then walked in a house a bit up the road

i went to said house, knocked on the door

guy answers, says “i guess you need me to move my truck.”

me: um, yeah, that would certainly make it easier for me to park in MY driveway

woman inside house: well we were only gonna be a minute

me: well, that’s too bad because i need to park there now

and if that wasn’t enough, he was wearing an ohio state shirt

Cory: that sounds exactly right

Now, on to the NFL. I finished 9-6 last week, pulling me to 16-15 on the year. I have no idea what’s going on this season, which really appears to be as wide open as any in recent memory. This week features some interesting games, not all of which involve good teams. The Kansas City/Atlanta game falls in that category; these teams suck, but I’m not sure which one sucks less. I’ll probably go with the home team, but really, it’s a toss up.

I have much room for improvement, so let’s count on better results this week:

Kansas City at Atlanta

Oakland at Buffalo

Tampa Bay at Chicago

Houston at Tennessee

Carolina at Minnesota

Miami at New England

Cincinnati at New York Giants

Arizona at Washington

Detroit at San Francisco

St. Louis at Seattle

New Orleans at Denver

Pittsburgh at Philadelphia

Jacksonville at Indianapolis

Cleveland at Baltimore

Dallas at Green Bay

New York Jets at San Diego

And for those of you care about these awards (and frankly, I don’t as they rarely pick the best shows/actors), here are my quick picks for Sunday night’s Emmy’s (note, this are not who I think should win, but who I think will win):
DRAMA SERIES
“Boston Legal,” ABC
“Damages,” FX
“Dexter,” Showtime
“House,” Fox
“Lost,” ABC
“Mad Men,” AMC

COMEDY SERIES
“Curb Your Enthusiasm,” HBO
“Entourage,” HBO
“The Office,” NBC
“30 Rock,” NBC
“Two and a Half Men,” CBS

ACTOR, DRAMA SERIES
Gabriel Byrne, “In Treatment”
Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad”
Michael C. Hall, “Dexter”
Jon Hamm, “Mad Men”
Hugh Laurie, “House”
James Spader, “Boston Legal”

ACTRESS, DRAMA SERIES
Glenn Close, “Damages”
Sally Field, “Brothers and Sisters”
Mariska Hargitay, “Law and Order: Special Victims Unit”
Holly Hunter, “Saving Grace”
Kyra Sedgwick, “The Closer”

ACTRESS, COMEDY SERIES
Christina Applegate, “Samantha Who?”
America Ferrera, “Ugly Betty”
Tina Fey, “30 Rock”
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “New Adventures of Old Christine”
Mary-Louise Parker, “Weeds”

ACTOR, COMEDY SERIES
Alec Baldwin, “30 Rock”
Steve Carell, “The Office”
Lee Pace, “Pushing Daisies”
Tony Shalhoub, “Monk”
Charlie Sheen, “Two and a Half Men”

SUPPORTING ACTOR, COMEDY SERIES
Jon Cryer, “Two and a Half Men”
Kevin Dillon, “Entourage”
Neil Patrick Harris, “How I Met Your Mother”
Jeremy Piven, “Entourage”
Rainn Wilson, “The Office”

SUPPORTING ACTOR, DRAMA SERIES
Ted Danson, “Damages”
Michael Emerson, “Lost”
Zeljko Ivanek, “Damages”
William Shatner, “Boston Legal”
John Slattery, “Mad Men”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS, DRAMA SERIES
Candice Bergen, “Boston Legal”
Rachel Griffiths, “Brothers and Sisters”
Sandra Oh, “Grey’s Anatomy”
Dianne Wiest, “In Treatment”
Chandra Wilson, “Grey’s Anatomy”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS, COMEDY SERIES
Kristin Chenoweth, “Pushing Daisies”
Amy Poehler, “Saturday Night Live”
Jean Smart, “Samantha Who?
Holland Taylor, “Two and a Half Men”
Vanessa Williams, “Ugly Betty”

And here’s a bonus clip that springs to mind every time I see those Pizza Hut and Hardee’s commercials that feature some d

4 thoughts on “Season 2: Football Picks, Week 3

  1. That Youtube video had me laughing on the floor! Is that Chris Farley in it? It looks like him. Anyway, “The Office” makes me laugh like that. The show hasn’t made me laugh like that recently, but the last time was when Michael forced himself on Oscar and kissed him in front of everyone. OMG…hilarious!!! That’s like watching 2 brothers trying to kiss…haha.

    So hey, did you watch the Super Bowl this year? If you did, do you remember that Tide commercial with the talking stain? I thought that commercial was so funny! Well Tide decided to have a contest where people get to create their own talking spoof ads. Have you seen any of these Tide to Go spoof commercials on NBC? They’ve been showing since the beginning of the month. There was one that came on yesterday during a rerun of “The Office.” It was the one at the supermarket. You gotta see it…it’s funny.

    You can check out the “Supermarket” spoof and others here @ http://www.tidetogo.com/ads

    Next week they’re going to show the winning spoof during the season premiere of “The Office” this coming Thursday, September 25. So which spoof do you think will win?

    I work for Tide To Go and I hope I’m not overstepping any boundaries by telling you about this. I’m just trying to spread the word. If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

    Have a great day!

    Ericka Watts
    Tide To Go Ambassador
    ericka.tidetogo@gmail.com

  2. Pingback: Football

  3. To continue upon my jibberish from Cory’s blog:

    I agreed with your Denver decision so much I put money down on it. THE Denver Broncos had better cover that 6 and 1/2 points of victory I’m counting on.

Leave a Reply

