Don’t give up …

Each summer, ESPN spends a day raising money for The V Foundation, a charitable organization that raises money for cancer research. Since its inception in 1993, in honor of Jim Valvano, The V Foundation has raised more than $80 million.

I’ve always been a fan of this organization, in large part because of the famous speech Valvano delivered at the 1993 Espys, at which time he announced the formation of The V Foundation, even as he was dying from cancer. The speech instantly became a classic, as the man spoke with wit and humor, courage and charm.

Until this week, cancer hadn’t really played a large role in my family’s life. I’d never had anyone in my close family die from it, but that changed Monday morning when my great-uncle Linville died.

I’m paying more attention to this message this year.

I hope you do, too.

Leave a Reply

