Randomness

Football has arrived.

Well, almost. It arrives this week with honest-to-goodness games that matter (at least on the college level), and it’s about time. My Golden Domers (Notre Dame to you) might actually be decent this year (despite Cory’s notions they’ll get upset in the opener against Nevada), and the University of Kentucky should be an improved team, even if their record ultimately suggests otherwise.

I’m looking forward to UK’s Sept. 26 game against Florida, not because I think the Wildcats have any chance of winning, but because my friend Sean has invited me to the game. I’ll get a chance to see Tim Tebow in person, which is something I’ll enjoy. I might not have the crush on him the national media does, but I have a high opinion of the guy. He’s a great athlete and seems to be a better person. Also, I think he’ll win another Heisman, so it’s a chance to see a little piece of history.

* I spent a large chunk of this summer watching old TV shows on DVD. I started with The Wire, which had been hailed as the greatest show in the history of the medium. While I think that’s a bit of hyperbole, The Wire remained one of the best I’d seen. It’s regular absence from the Emmys shows just how little the TV awards actually mean.

I also watched Twin Peaks, finally, after all this time, learning who killed Laura Palmer. The first season unfolded at a level of brilliance that was unusual for its early 1990s timeframe, but the second season was pretty much unwatchable. I struggled through it just to say I finished it, but save for two stellar episodes, the entire second season was beyond awful.

Last week, I finished Undeclared, a Judd Apatow-created show that ran on Fox for a brief period in the early part of this decade. I watched it when it first aired, and time has done nothing to lessen the comedy of a show that followed a group of geeky freshmen at a California college. It’s definitely something I’d suggest adding to your Netflix or Blockbuster accounts.

* I loved, loved, LOVED Inglourious Basterds, the newest film from Quentin Tarantino, which surprised me by being his most mature film to date. There are no less than three classic sequences, and the film just gets better and better as you think about it after viewing it.

Basterds prompted me to start a bit of a QT marathon, and so far I’ve rewatched Reservoir Dogs, Death Proof and True Romance (he wrote it, and I love it), with the rest coming over the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

