This is why I don’t gamble

To the best of my knowledge, there was only one interesting NFL game this past weekend.

Dallas and Baltimore both romped over their opponents (Philadelphia and New England, respectively), and Cincinnati laid an egg against the New York Jets. Fortunately, the offensive shootout between Airzona and Green Bay proved exciting, with the Cardinals pulling it out in overtime.

Had I been a betting man, I would have won half of those games, getting it right with Dallas and Arizona. Even then, I’m not sure what the point spreads were, so I probably would have flubbed up those games, too.

We now head into the next round, looking at Baltimore at Indianapolis and New York at San Diego in the AFC and Dallas at Minnesota and Arizona at New Orleans in the NFC. The great thing about the NFL this season is that any of those teams could win this weekend. The bad thing about the NFL this season is that any of those teams could win this weekend.

I’m all for parity, but at the same time, the game also needs someone to actively root against. This year (as in all years), we can all cheer for the Cowboys to lose, but this team doesn’t have the swagger that previous Dallas teams had, so it’s kind of like rooting against Darth Vader, even after he killed the Emperor.

This weekend, I like the Colts, Chargers, Cowboys and Cardinals to win, and I just now noticed that all four teams have “C” names. I guess I like alliteration.

On a completely unrelated note, I watched Up in the Air over the weekend, and I honestly don’t see what all the fuss is about. Industry insiders are saying it’s the front-runner for the Best Picture Oscar, with Avatar being the likeliest opponent. Up in the Air has fantastic acting and writing, but as a whole, it’s completely underwhelming. The movie seemed to be arguing two sides at the same time, without giving any support to either one.

I’m hearing a lot of people compare it to Lost in Translation, primarily because it deals with a middle-aged man coming to terms with his place in life. I see more like a lesser version of About Schmidt, which not only dealt with the same themes but also had a central setting of Omaha.

Leave a Reply

