Pending Lent

Last year, I gave up desserts and shaving.

This year, though, nothing is immediately springing to mind.

I’ve recently started trying to observe Lent by giving up something for the period, and I guess I’m not fully committed since I’ve vetoed two early suggestions: red meat and TV.

I could possibly put a halt on red meat, but I’ll be in Texas during part of Lent, and I really want to eat a fat Texas steak while there, so that would be difficult. Granted, it’s supposed to be difficult to give up something for Lent, but since I haven’t been in Texas since the mid-1980s, I want to enjoy the food while I have the chance.

Giving up TV wouldn’t be difficult; it would be completely impossible. There’s no way I could miss the heart of college basketball season, but more importantly, this is the final season of Lost. I’m not that strong.

So, readers (the few of you who remain), what should I attempt to give up for Lent this year? Offer your suggestions in the comments section below.

2 thoughts on “Pending Lent

  1. I don’t even know if you you use credit cards or not, but that’s an interesting thing to give up for awhile. I’ve given up credit cards for the past few months and it has made a big difference – you become more conscientious of the money you spend. Also, Lent can be about adding something to your life such as reading the Bible more often, doing more random acts of kindness, etc. If you can’t find something to give up, find something good to add.

  2. Julie is right. Rather than giving something up, you can choose to do more of something good.

    But if you’re hell-bent on giving something up, I suggest you quit listening to Bruce Springsteen for a couple of months. God will be very pleased with you.

Leave a Reply

