Old sounds are new to me

I love music.

I love music, but I also realize I’ve had somewhat of a limited scope in terms of some musicians. While I’m overly familiar with the works of Bruce Springsteen, The Beatles and Wilco, there are quite a few classic albums I’ve never listened to from start to finish.

I’ve never listened to Dark Side of the Moon.

Or The Wall.

Or any Rolling Stones album.

While this might not seem like much of a big deal, keep in mind that at one time I knew every word to ever song off Vanilla Ice’s To the Extreme.

Starting tonight, I’m going to begin the process of listening to some of the best albums ever recorded. I hope to be able to eventually share my thoughts about some of these and in doing so, I hope to learn of more albums I need to check out.

First up will be Exile On Main Street by the Rolling Stones.

Soon to follow are:

Blonde on Blonde by Bob Dylan
Highway 61 Revisited by Bob Dylan
Blood on the Tracks by Bob Dylan
Graceland by Paul Simon
London Calling by The Clash
The Wall by Pink Floyd
Dark Side of the Moon by Pink Floyd

Please leave any other suggestions in the comments section below.

3 thoughts on “Old sounds are new to me

  1. What about the first Violent Femmes first album?
    When you get further down on your list, try Rush’s 2112 (an interesting attempt at a sci-fi opera) or Moving Pictures from start to end.

Leave a Reply

