Ranking the Best Picture nominees

I’ll be the first to admit that I have no idea how to decipher the instructions for voting for this year’s Best Picture from the 10 nominees. It’s a complicated process that involves ranking all 10 from 1-10, then using some sort of process of elimination until one movie gets more than 50 percent of the votes. I’m pretty sure this is the most confusing and unnecessarily difficult way of choosing a winner outside of the Electoral College.

To explain, I borrow this from ew.com:
“In the past, once the nominees were announced, Academy members voted only for the one film they thought should win the award, and the film with the most votes won. But with so many nominees (this) year, it’s feasible that a movie could have won Best Picture with only 11 percent of the vote, which seems crazy. So now, once the 10 nominees are named, voters will rank the films from 1 to 10. All the No. 1 votes will be counted, and if no film has more than 50 percent of the vote (which will certainly be the case), the last-place film will be eliminated and the voters who voted for that film will have their No. 2 votes counted instead. That process will continue until one film has a majority of the votes.”

So, keeping that in mind, allow me to rank them from 1-10, with 1, of course, being my favorite of the year:

Up
Inglourious Basterds
Avatar
The Hurt Locker
A Serious Man
District 9
Up in the Air
Precious: Did not see
An Education: Did not see
The Blind Side

Despite having not seen Precious or An Education, I can all but guarantee they’re better than The Blind Side, which while enjoyable, has no business whatsoever being on this list.

I should also note that there’s a steep drop-off between The Hurt Locker and A Serious Man. The top four on my list are high atop my list while the others left me sorely disappointed.

As we head into Sunday’s awards, I’m getting increasingly torn about who will actually win. I’m sticking with my initial pick of The Hurt Locker, but I wouldn’t be surprised to see Avatar or Inglourious Basterds walking away with the prize.

I’m curious as to your order of the nominees. Please leave them in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Ranking the Best Picture nominees

  1. It is going to be Avatar or Hurt Locker as Best Picture. I’m hoping Avatar though because I thought Hurt Locker was overrated.

Leave a Reply

