Example 4,192 on how texts are dangerous

Not too long ago, my attempt at being both southernly and gentlemanly almost ended up with me being far more southern than gentleman.

I was sending a text message to a friend and adopted a whimsical tone of a genteel fellow, one who tips his hat to Southern belles while sounding like Mark Twain or Hal Holbrook (or, better yet, Mark Twain as portrayed by Hal Holbrook).

I didn’t quite make it here.

I wanted to send this as a text: Take care, darlin’.

The recipient? A black woman.

Which is why it was not cool for my fat fingers to hit the wrong keys, leaving this as my message: Take care, darkin’.

I fortunately caught my mistake before hitting send.

Leave a Reply

