Lollapalooza 2010: Sorry bands, but it’s about the food

I made a recent discovery about Lollapalooza that changes pretty much everything about my approach to the concert festival heading into the 2010 version.

It’s no longer about the music. Sure, seeing Arcade Fire, Lady Gaga and others will be fun, but really, it’s about Chicago. Lollapalooza gives me one chance each year to spend some time in my favorite city, all while having some cool music as a backdrop.


I’m debating on whether I should bring back my Official Lolla hat for 2010. Thoughts?

Cory and I will head up next Thursday, ready to meet some friends in the city as we go to our usual spots on the pre-Lolla eating extravaganza. We’ll begin with Excelsior (known to most by its actual name of Exchequer), home to what is surely the finest pizza and wings ever created on this earth.

After that, we’ll walk the city streets, pretending we blend right in instead of sticking out like a couple of yokels. In the past, we’ve had much success, to the point we found ourselves in a VIP-only section of the Apple store to catch an up-close performance by The Kills and some other bands. While the staff kept shooing away other wanna-bes, there we sat, casually rocking out like we owned the place.


Excelsior, we count down the days until we feast upon your finest pizza and wings.

The good fortune carried over last year, as Chad Birch found himself being heavily courted by a pretty sales clerk. She all but invited herself to Lollapalooza with Chad, who stood there like some sort of statue, clumsily brushing off her advances for reasons Cory and I still cannot determine. On a related note, Chad is not returning to Lolla this year.

(Note: for recaps from previous Lollas, go here:
2006
2007 Day 1
2007 Day 2
2007 Day 3
2008 (The Toby Keith Fiasco)
2008 Day 1
2008 Day 2
2008 Day 3
2008 Toby Keith Rebuttal

I’m counting on some good stories to hear our way this year (Little Feather, this means you), much like we have in past years. That’s really the fun of the time, well, other than enjoying lobster corndogs.

But since there will be music involved, I would like to get some input from you on who I should see. As of now, these are the bands/singers on my list:

These United States
Foxy Shazam
Mavis Staples
Drive-By Truckers
DEVO
Matt & Kim
The Black Keys
Jamie Lidell
Lady Gaga
The xx
Gogol Bordello
Spoon
Green Day
Blitzen Trapper
The Ike Reilly Assassination
Erykah Badu
Wolfmother
Cypress Hill
Arcade Fire

The complete list can be found here, so please offer some suggestions on who to see. I’m pretty solid on what to eat, though.

5 thoughts on “Lollapalooza 2010: Sorry bands, but it’s about the food

  1. You’ve pretty well nailed everyone who would be on my list except maybe The Strokes. If I were you I’d be going I’d hold on to the minuscule hope of catching an Ike Reilly – Lady Gaga jam session.

    Is it it just me or has Lolla taken a step closer to small club alternative this year? I’ve never heard of most of these bands, but judging them by their names, they’re a good fit for Pitchfork.

    • To be perfectly clear, Mr. John Thomas Whitlock, that hat was purchased for one reason and one reason only: I got a sunburn on my forehead and neck the first day of Lollapalooza 2008. Not only did it do its job, it fit with the rock of the weekend. So, in other words, shut your mouth, fool.

  2. As your fashion coordinator for the past 4 years, I am saying an unequivocal “Hell no!!” on the hat. Let the poor thing rest in peace, as it has clearly died a painful death, evidenced by its furled edges. The last time this hat looked fashionable was when it was still in straw/hay form in the field from which it grew.

  3. I don’t know, Kevin. I kinda like the hat. I never know many of the bands on the line-up, but you’ve got to promise to give a crazy shout for me if Erykah Badu does “Tyrone” or Cypress Hill does “Jump Around.” Those songs take me back. 🙂 I’d love to see Lady Gaga, too. Be safe.

Leave a Reply

