The 2011 Great Oscar Predictions Blog

There is a feeling of legitimate unknown, perhaps even a bit of mystery, heading into tonight’s Academy Awards. For the first few weeks of the campaign season, movie fans watched The Social Network build all the buzz to become the Best Picture favorite, but it has now slipped to second, most likely, behind The King’s Speech.

Unlike other years that featured a 1-2 race for the top prize, I have no dominant feelings toward one of these films over the other. I find both acceptable choices as 2010’s Best Picture winner, mainly because I know the year’s true best film, Inception, doesn’t stand a chance to win.

Each year, I try to offer my picks for the six major races, and last year I went six-for-six This year, though, is definitely more of a toss-up in the big categories, and I fully anticipate some upsets.

Here are my official picks for tonight’s Oscars. I’m curious to see yours, too:

Best Picture: The King’s Speech
Best Director: David Fincher
Best Actor: Colin Firth
Best Actress: Natalie Portman
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale
Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld

4 thoughts on “The 2011 Great Oscar Predictions Blog

  1. Also worth noting, I think the following SHOULD win:
    Inception
    David Fincher (since Christopher Nolan wasn’t even nominated)
    Jeff Bridges (way better this year than in Crazy Heart last year)
    Natalie Portman
    Christian Bale
    Amy Adams

    Katie, I think the Academy voters will do like they’ve been known to do and pick a child star. Plus, it’s their way of honoring True Grit.

    • But they’ve already honored True Grit when they gave an Oscar to John Wayne as Best Actor. I’ve seen Inception, looked okay, could have been better if I actually understood it. ^o^

Leave a Reply

