Entitled titles: Do some movies deserve special treatment?

Toward the end of 2011, I began the process of converting all my existing DVDs into a digital format, partly to have everything available on a computer, mostly to free up space in my house.

I’m at about the halfway point of converting the films, but I’m now faced with a dilemma as I move toward my favorite titles/directors: Do I keep any hard copies of the movies from my favorite directors? There’s something about having the actual DVDs from Scorsese, Eastwood, Anderson (both P.T. and Wes), Tarantino, Spielberg and others that I find comforting.

In some cases, I like having the DVD because of the special features, even though I rarely, if ever, watch them. More importantly, though, I like having the movies on a shelf, as if they’re miniature trophies to show the world: “Hey, these are the movies and directors I find important.”

It’s a way for you to walk into my room, scan my titles and make a quick judgment on my taste in film, which is fairly important to me. My close friends and I share similar taste in movies, and I’ve often wondered (and this is true for our musical favorites) if we like the same movies because we like each other or if we like each other because we like the same movies.

So, I continue to debate on keeping the titles vs. completely going digital. Do I hang on to the feeling the hard copies give me, or is that just my pack-rat tendencies surfacing? Or, and this is kind of a big deal, am I scared that the hard drive might completely wipe out and then I’d lose the titles for good? I guess I’ll keep pondering.

In the meantime, here is the updated list of movies I can handle parting with ($5 each, except where noted, or five for $20):

Kevin’s List O’ Movies
Citizen Kane
Dirty Harry
Mystic River
Million Dollar Baby
Gran Tarino (Blu-ray; $8)
Batman

Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure
Ed Wood
Sleepy Hollow
Planet of the Apes
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Corpse Bride
Fast Times at Ridgemont High
Say Anything
Jerry Maguire
Vanilla Sky
Elizabethtown
Lonesome Dove ($10)
The Office Seasons 1-4 ($10 or $30 for the set)
Beavis and Butt-head Vols. 1-3 ($10 or $25 for the set)
Futurama Season 1 ($10)
Eastbound & Down Season 1 ($10)
30 Rock Seasons 1-2 ($10 each)
Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip ($10)
Undeclared ($10)
24 Seasons 1-5 ($12 each or $45 afor the set)
Shrek
Shrek 2
Babe
Babe: Pig in the City
Stephen Sondheim Collection (Into the Woods, Sunday in the Park with George, Follies in Concert, Passion, Sweeney Todd in Concert, A Celebration at Carnegie Hall) ($30)
From Dusk Til Dawn
The Foot Fist Way
Robot Chicken: Star Wars
SNL: Best of Will Ferrell Vol. 1
SNL: Best of Will Ferrell Vol. 2
SNL: Best of Steve Martin
Elf
This is Spinal Tap
There’s Something About Mary
Kingpin
Shallow Hal
Groundhog Day
Bad Santa
Eddie Murphy Delirious
Jerry Seinfeld: I’m Telling You for the Last Time
Comedian
The Original Kings of Comedy
V for Vendetta
Austin Powers
Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me
Austin Powers: Goldmember
50 First Dates
The Wedding Singer
Billy Madison
Happy Gilmore
Big Daddy
Old School
The Abyss (Special Edition)
Terminator
Terminator 2
Terminator 3
Hulk
Spiderman
Spiderman 2
The Silence of the Lambs
The Blair Witch Project
Apocalypse Now Redux
Blazing Saddles
Mary Poppins
Walk the Line
Chicago
Once
Moulin Rouge
Across the Universe
True Romance
Bound
Matrix Reloaded
Matrix Revolutions
Gangs of New York
Kill Bill Vol. 1
Kill Bill Vol. 2
Paradise Lost: The Child Murders at Robin Hood Hills
Paradise Lost 2: Revelations
The Great Outdoors
Planes, Trains and Automobiles
Wedding Crashers
Dodge Ball
Freaked
The 40-Year-Old Virgin
Knocked Up
The Thin Red Line
Glengarry Glen Ross
Heat
The Insider
Collateral
Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World
L.A. Confidential
As Good as it Gets
About Schmidt
Being John Malkovich
Field of Dreams
Good Will Hunting
The Sixth Sense
Unbreakable
Signs
The Truman Show
Jacob’s Ladder
Confessions of a Dangerous Mind
Good Night, and Good Luck
Die Hard box set: Die Hard, Die Hard 2, Die Hard with a Vengeance ($12)
Rocky box set: Rocky, Rocky II, Rocky III, Rocky IV, Rocky V ($12)
Lost in Translation
Sideways
Amelie
Garden State
Serendipity
Superbad
Superman Returns
Donnie Darko
Young @ Heart
Murderball
Shut Up & Sing
Children of Men
Donnie Brasco
Sin City
Forrest Gump
Road to Perdition
Spanglish
Pearl Harbor
Fight Club
Seven
Independence Day
Dark City
The X-Files: Fight the Future
Speed
Strange Days
Total Recall
Predator
Shaun of the Dead
Curb Your Enthusiasm Seasons 1-7 ($10 each or $50 for the set)
Extras Seasons 1-2 ($10)

5 thoughts on “Entitled titles: Do some movies deserve special treatment?

  1. Netflix used to have a “Friends” feature where you could compare your movie ratings with your friends’ ratings. Most of my closest friends were about 65-75% aligned with my ratings. Wish they still had that.

    Also, I feel the same way about my movies and music. When I’m dead and you want to know who I was, just go look at my collection.

  2. You’re getting rid of Jerry Maguire, Curb, Fight Club, and Robot Chicken: Star Wars….you can’t be serious. I don’t think we can be blog friends anymore.

Leave a Reply

