The 2013 Great Oscar Predictions Blog

In a year without any movies completely breaking away from the pack as an obvious Best Picture frontrunner, we head into Sunday’s Academy Awards with a sense of mystery surrounding most of the top awards.

It’s a bit of a shame the year’s best picture, The Master, didn’t even warrant a nomination, but such is the way it goes with challenging films from Paul Thomas Anderson. The year’s next best, Django Unchained, will have to be content with getting a nomination, which, given the content of the film, still is a bit surprising to me.

20130221-074641.jpg

Only a month ago, Lincoln seemed primed to walk away with the night’s top prize, but since then, Ben Affleck’s Argo has ridden momentum and will likely win Best Picture. I’m actually for this – Lincoln was technically a well-crafted movie in terms of direction, acting and writing, but frankly, it was completely boring through large chunk of its running time. Argo, on the other hand, proved to be a suspenseful and surprisingly funny movie. The fact that it celebrates the film industry also doesn’t hurt its chances (see last year’s win by The Artist for further proof).

I really, REALLY dig this trailer.

I offer my predictions on the top six categories, and I hope to improve on my recent picks: four of six in 2009, 2011 and 2012, with a five of six in 2010.

Keep in mind, these aren’t necessarily who I want to win (I put the Best Picture winners in order like this: Django Unchained, Zero Dark Thirty, Silver Linings Playbook, Argo, Lincoln, Life of Pi and Beasts of the Southern Wild; I haven’t seen Les Miserablesor Amour). I have a pretty solid feeling about four of the six this year, with the biggest unknowns at Best Actress and Best Supporting Actor. I feel like this is Jennifer Lawrence’s to lose, but a lot of support seems to be trending toward Emmanuelle Riva. I’m going to be torn about this one until the winner is announced.

As for Supporting Actor, I could see it going to either Tommy Lee Jones, Robert De Niro or Christoph Waltz, despite the fact Phillip Seymour Hoffman is the most deserving. I’m mostly leaning toward De Niro and Waltz, and of the two, I think Waltz deserves it most but the voters might want to reward a welcome return to actual acting by De Niro.

I wouldn’t be the least bit disappointed if Silver Linings Playbook ended up taking home the Best Picture Oscar.

Best Picture: Argo
Best Director: Steven Spielberg
Best Actor: Daniel Day Lewis
Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence
Best Supporting Actor: Robert De Niro
Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway

2 thoughts on “The 2013 Great Oscar Predictions Blog

  1. Good predictions… mainly the safe picks. I feel that if Lawrence takes Best Actress (which she should) then DeNiro won’t take Supporting Actor (which like you said is a wide open category). While Spielberg seems like the front-runner for Best Director, I just don’t think he’ll win. I see David O. Russell in the lead, but I’m predicting an upset with Michael Haneke beating out the pack.

    But all this uncertainty makes for an enjoyable Oscars telecast.

Leave a Reply

