Lollapalooza 2010: The countdown begins

I can already taste the pizza, wings and cupcake.

Lollapalooza is more than three months away, but the trip (or at least the planning aspect) is in full bloom. Plane tickets have been purchased and a hotel room has been booked – fantastic deals were secured on both items – and now I only need to wait for the band schedule to be released to get an idea of the music I’ll be hearing each day.

(Note: for a full look at past Lollapalooza experiences, enter “Lollapalooza” in the search box to the right. You’ll get to see more about the concert, the park and, of course, the food).

Barring any unfortunate scheduling conflicts (and that’s just wishful thinking; each year, there are far too many instances were good bands play at the same time at opposite ends of Grant Park), I plan on seeing:
• Soundgarden (I don’t really care for the band, but they haven’t played together in 13 years, so I’ll at least stick around for a bit)
• Green Day
• Lady Gaga
• Arcade Fire
• The Strokes
• MGMT
• The Black Keys
• The National
• Spoon
• Cypress Hill
• Erykah Badu
• Wolfmother
• Matt & Kim
• The xx
• Drive-By Truckers
• Jamie Lidell
• Blitzen Trapper
• Foxy Shazam
• These United States

I’m sure I’ll stumble along a few others and miss out on a few of these, but for now, these are the early targets.

Take a look at the full lineup and let me know if there any other “must see” bands out there. I’ll take your suggestions under consideration while I’m feasting at Excelsior.

Leave a Reply

